If I Had a Magic Wand

by Andrea Chilcote

I’ve decided I want a magic wand – not just any wand, rather a very specialized and precise instrument. When used, it would transmit some knowledge or ability that would give me the insight to wipe away a lifelong struggle or really learn one of those life lessons that I seem to need to learn again and again. I’m not asking for a genie to manifest millions or restore youth. I’m just asking for a tool.

Today, (if I had it) my magic wand would convey to me an ability to discern and trust my intuition.

Some days are better than others as my intuitive prowess goes. The real issues are discerning and trusting. In the heat of the moment, how can I know for sure that my passions or my fears are products of the true knowing of my heart, or simply a story made up by my logical mind?

Alas, I’m not likely to find an actual wand. So I will proceed as I do, faithfully listening and acting, using the outcome of that process as a feedback loop that informs me of the subtle signs, signals and feelings that precede tangible insight. I will continue to tell myself that which appears illogical always reveals itself in time, and the more I question it the more elusive it becomes.

I’m even going to pretend I have a wand. I’ll let you know how that goes; pretending may be all that’s needed.

If you had a magic wand that conveyed some gift of knowledge or insight, what would you choose to learn today?

Insight is not a light bulb that goes off inside our heads. It is a
flickering candle that can easily be snuffed out
.
― Malcolm Gladwell, Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking

3 thoughts on “If I Had a Magic Wand

  1. Pingback: How Magic Works | erikshope

  2. I love this! I was actually thinking this morning of a healing wand, blue with sparkles in it, cone-shaped, that would magically heal.

    Like

POST REPLY

