How Magic Works

by Andrea Chilcote

The following post appeared originally on The Spirited Woman where Andrea is a weekly blogger. This summer, followers of this blog will enjoy bi-weekly archived posts that have appeared on The Spirited Woman but never before on this site. 

In the past I have written of my desire for a magic wand, knowing all along I already had one. I had simply misplaced it.

My magic wand is pretty basic. It does not command world peace (though I would like that) and it appears unable to intervene in matters of life and death. But it is reliable for the small things that often fool us into believing they are monumental.

The magic reappeared a few days ago. In considering the next day’s schedule, I realized that I had underestimated the time it would take to get to the airport, and had over-extended my availability to a well deserving client. The morning before our call (and my flight) I thought, as I have done so many times before, “Let this be resolved to our mutual benefit.” I was unattached, though intent.

The request was one I am very familiar with. When I make this type of intention known to the universe, I always do so in the spirit of mutual benefit. So it was surprising to me when, by noon of that morning, I had not received a request to reschedule. I then asked Laura, my assistant, to gently request a rescheduled date. I remained unattached, fully willing to honor the original commitment if necessary.

My surprise quickly changed to amusement when I learned that Laura had made the request at the exact same time my client’s assistant had emailed a decline for our meeting. It seems the time was inconvenient for him as well. The meeting was rescheduled for our mutual benefit.

As I thought about this incident, I heard the words in my head say: “It’s just everyday magic.” And I thought of the wisdom of Dr. Wayne Dyer, whose book Real Magic reminds us that real magic means creating miracles in everyday life.

If these principles work on rescheduling appointments for shared convenience, I believe they also work on the bigger stuff. It’s not my magic wand that’s inadequate, it’s my faith. Rather than searching for a better model of wand, I vow to grow in my ability set an intention, then detach with the knowing that the best result will prevail. I challenge you to do the same. There’s a magic wand in your psyche just waiting to be put into service.

POST REPLY

