Be Present – Another Reminder

by Andrea Chilcote

The following post appeared originally on The Spirited Woman where Andrea is a weekly blogger. Enjoy it!

Yesterday my long-time client offered up a ground rule at the start of a team meeting. “Be present,” she said, adding: “I got that from you, Andrea, years ago.”

Presence has been a life-long goal, and I’m adept enough at it to feel I’m in integrity when I coach and encourage others to stay in the moment. It is, after all, the only place where there is peace and it’s also the place where most real work gets done.

Oh, I still have a way to go.

This afternoon at 3 pm, after wondering for at least an hour why I felt so irritable, I remembered I had not eaten since 5:45 this morning. A piece of cheese toast, and all was well. But why was I not in tune enough with my own body (present in it) to realize this sooner?

Yesterday, rushing to leave the house, I accused my husband of having my car key. “You drove my car this morning!” I exclaimed, exasperated. “Yes,” he replied calmly. “But I used the spare valet key because yours was nowhere to be found.” I stopped, breathed, and instantly recalled where I had put it the day before. I was reminded that even being momentarily present in my doorway, gathering my things (which included my key) is significant. My mind was already on my drive and destination, though getting there depended on basic mental clarity.

And for my last confession, I offer this small but significant story. Earlier this week, I allowed myself to become distracted by a potential problem. The problem was not real; it was possible, maybe even probable. Several hours later, I learned that a work-around had occurred and all was well. This was a stark example to me that I had squandered time and productivity worrying about something that did not even exist, and eventually never did. Worry is rarely a partner to presence. It is usually a projection of future possibilities, mostly negative ones.

In these three simple examples, in some small way I jeopardized the following.

  • My physical comfort (hunger that led to anxiety)
  • My relationships (irritability with others)
  • My productivity (time wasted worrying)

We all experience these lapses of presence, at least sometimes. And if you share my goal of honoring the moment at hand, perhaps my experiences will remind you to stop and breathe, notice your feelings — and take remedial action where needed.

2 thoughts on “Be Present – Another Reminder

  1. Great post and a good reminder. Here’s my story about the value of being present…

    In early April of 1999 I took a sailing trip off the coast of Mississippi with some of my experiential learning friends. We titled the trip, “You must be present to win!” At that time I had been recently laid off and was just working contracts, trying to find what’s next. During the sail we discussed what it means to be present and what you win if you are present.

    It was truly an amazing two days doing things I love to do and with people I love to be with so it was rather easy to be present. I could tell you almost every moment of that trip still today. The outcome was a very clear path forward. I was moving back to Iowa closer to family and starting my own consulting firm.

    And on May 7th, 1999. I did just that with absolute clarity and resolve.

    Like

    • Carol, this is a wonderful story of how being present was the mechanism for you to see your future steps clearly. That’s a tough concept as our tricky minds hijack the moment and we think planning the future is more important. The truth is that being present will carry us into our perfect future.

      Like

POST REPLY

