Relating to OurSelves – Putting Self First

Here’s another timely reblog. How do you relate to yourself – do you put yourself first?

erikshope

Putting Self Firstby Andrea Chilcote

This post is the first of a three-part series entitled “Relating to OurSelves.” This segment deals with honoring yourself first in order to build capacity for helping others.

Lately it seems I have less time and more demands on that precious time. Sound familiar? When I recently shared this lament with a trusted confidant, she asked me to do something that on the surface sounded simple. Her request? “State the following, then tell me how it feels to you: ‘I am the most important person in my life right now.’”

Well, it felt incongruent. Even though I believe that unless I care for myself first I cannot possibly care for important others in my life, I sure did not feel it in the midst of my all-too-busy day.

Many women tend to be healers – we’re the gender more often charged with care-giving. (This is not intended…

View original post 445 more words

2 thoughts on “Relating to OurSelves – Putting Self First

  1. Pingback: Relating to Ourselves…Who Are You? | erikshope

  2. Pingback: Relating to Ourselves…The Need for Renewal | erikshope

POST REPLY

