Inspiration

Inspiration, Andrea ChilcoteWho inspires you today?

by Andrea Chilcote

Lately I have had the opportunity to meet, dialogue with, and work with some amazing women and men. These are “ordinary” people who don’t think of themselves as extraordinary. Yet their courage of conviction inspires me with every breath I take, and any time I become weary, I am heartened by their stamina and drive.

Today’s post is a tribute to the people who know who they are, what they desire for our world, and stand firm in their values.

More than ever before, it seems we are no longer satisfied to know of a right path yet remain on another. One former client wrote to tell me of a drastic life change he made, inspired by his passion to improve literacy. He sent this quote by George Eliot: “It is never too late to be what you might have been.” Another said “I’ve made a firm commitment to myself that a year from now I will be doing something very different for a living, in a field I am excited about and with very little concern about the income.”

Whenever I feel weary because I work hard, I am reminded of all the others who do even more. My veterinarian friend Dr. Kit performed over 6000 low cost spay/neuters for needy families and rescue groups in 2013. She draws forth the energy because her love is so great.

Recently, I spent time with a colleague who recently experienced a major, painful surgery. She is back to work teaching and supporting others, appearing as if the pain she still feels does not exist. Surely it would if she were not compelled to service. Many who suffer significant physical and emotional pain seemingly don’t suffer at all because there’s so much to do.

Thank you all for being a light in a needy world.

_____

The following post appeared originally on The Spirited Woman where Andrea is a weekly blogger. Enjoy it!

POST REPLY

