Self-Care – Inspiration from New Year’s 2014

Andrea Chilcoteby Andrea Chilcote

I gave up “resolutions” some time ago because they’re often short-lived should-do’s that lack inspiration.

One of the many reasons resolutions don’t work is that they seem to set us up for either perfection or failure. When we fail (skipping the gym, eating the French fries) – why bother tomorrow?

For me, the key factor is that word “inspiration.” What inspires me in this new year of 2014? The advice I offered in last week’s post: Care for yourself first, if you wish to give to others.

I’m finally serious about this, and I’m not finding it easy. But this time, I’m reframing “failures” as small learning experiences. An example: On Monday morning, the amount of to-do’s before a trip challenged my usual gentle approach to structure. I made a list of nine items, then prioritized it. The latter step was important, given that I likely had less time than tasks. Guess what I noticed? The one thing “for me” on the list was #9. Interesting. I moved it up.

Andrea ChilcoteThis small realization has led to daily (and sometimes hourly) assessments about what I need. And, it’s not a selfish practice – far from it. I’ve finally (at age 52), decided it’s impossible for me to contribute what I wish to contribute in this world if I do not have the things I need to sustain my energy. In 2013, the scale was unbalanced. It will be different in 2014.

You are nurturing, caring, and giving beings. Is the scale in balance?

Self-care is possessing enough self-awareness to invoke repeated patterns of being that harmoniously correct the behaviors of over-functioning for others while under-functioning for yourself.”
― LaShaun Middlebrooks Collier


This post appeared originally on The Spirited Woman where Andrea is a blogger. Enjoy it!

One thought on “Self-Care – Inspiration from New Year’s 2014

POST REPLY

