Running on Empty

Have you rushed into this new year to find yourself already running on empty? Here’s a gentle nudge to be mindful of your own need for renewal.

By Andrea Chilcote

I had one of those early morning dream states in which I was already up and at my desk. The last two hours were not real sleep, and served as an omen for the day ahead.

When I reached for the half-and-half (yes, it’s as much my habit as the coffee), it was low. So low, I would have to conserve if I were to have second cup. Running on empty.

Things proceeded as planned, though with a definite layer of unexamined stress surrounding my activities. “What is this?”

I put the thought (feeling?) to the side and carried on. A glance at a friend’s Facebook post revealed a challenge. “What is one thing you will do to renew yourself today?” I had no response. Struggled with it for 30 seconds then moved on to my next task. Yes, I know I could have saved time by not being seduced by Facebook. I was not there long.

Task, task, task. One foot in front of the other. Suddenly, the time to leave for a meeting grew near. As I began a print for a document I needed, I considered the paper level. Running on empty. The printer ran out before the last two pages printed. Empty all the way.

I filled it and stowed my document.

A few other minor annoyances arose, and when I reached my car I had no room for error.

Out of gas. Empty. (Oh not really, because I had enough to get to a station. Just running on empty).

I stopped to fill the tank, and made arrangements to call my client from the car if needed.

The afternoon proceeded generally as planned. The stress seemed to dissipate, yet something was still off when I arrived home.

The dogs were waiting for me, and very vocal about my arrival. Oh yes, they love me but they were hungry. And thirsty. Whisper pointed out the fact that the bowl contained only about an inch of water. (Mind you, if there was an inch, they were hydrated). When I went to fill the bowls, even the water tank was low and I had to replace that. Low, not empty.

In loving memory of Whisper. “It was a beautiful life for a most beautiful girl.”

Andrea and Whisper —Cambria, CA 2017

What do you do when your tank is low? Do you let it run dry? Do you replenish it at the last moment like I did today?

Perhaps the most important question – for me and for you – is my friend’s Facebook challenge: “What is one thing you will do to renew yourself today?”

I will answer that tomorrow morning, and I know it will transform my day.


 

7 thoughts on “Running on Empty

  1. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Thank you, I have just been looking for info about this subject for a while and yours is the best I have came upon till now. But, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

    Like

  3. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog look easy. The full look of your website is magnificent, as smartly as the content!

    Like

  4. I am now not sure the place you’re getting your information, but great topic. I must spend a while finding out more or figuring out more. Thanks for magnificent info I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

    Like

  5. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really something that I think I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely huge for me. I’m taking a look ahead to your subsequent put up, I will attempt to get the grasp of it!

    Like

  6. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, however great topic. I needs to spend some time finding out more or working out more. Thanks for excellent info I was searching for this info for my mission.

    Like

  7. I’m now not certain the place you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend a while studying more or figuring out more. Thank you for wonderful info I used to be on the lookout for this info for my mission.

    Like

POST REPLY